I woke up this morning at about 6:30 and once again felt physically horrible and not well-rested at all. As of late (basically for the last month or two) I have been experiencing alot more physical fatigue than usual. This can be attributed to two major factors: Borderline diabetes and anxiety. I am going to start by addressing the diabetes issue.

I was diagnosed a few years ago with borderline diabetes. I am 48 years old, 6’2″ and 265 lbs. Add to that a family history of type 2 diabetes on my mom’s side of the family and you come up with one very bad combination.

Why am I blogging about this?

1. I am hoping others will read and learn from this and share their stories, experiences, and what worked for them.

2. I need to hold myself accountable for the life changes I must make.

3. I know that I am far from alone in a country in which there is an epidemic of diabetes that is growing everyday.

4. I need to use this as a way of keeping track of my progress to make sure the things I am doing are really giving me results.

The two most important things that I can begin doing today is to detoxify my system and become more active. I have a gym membership for $22/month that I haven’t used in quite a while.

First things first! I need to get my blood sugar tested again. For me that means a trip to my local Veterans Administration health clinic on Friday. I need to get one of those testing machines so that I can figure out what my baseline is for about two weeks a couple of times everyday.

Why do a body system detoxification?

The bottom line is that Americans in general are addicted to all kinds of different sugars in much higher amounts than other populations around the world. It is in almost everything we eat and drink. I am lucky in that my fiance owns and runs a wellness center and she is a very knowledgeable massage and wellness therapist. I have the right tools at my disposal but I haven’t taken advantage of them because it was just too easy to keep doing the same things and stay in my rut. Today all of that changes! I have gotten tired of being sick and tired! Now I am going to do some studying up on diabetes, sugar addiction, and the effects of sugar on the body and get back to you soon with what I have learned. Stay tuned….

Thanks for stopping by to check this out. Have a great day and may God bless all of you!

