The Complete Haul!

The first thing that my fiance and I have gotten and you probably will get also if you shop at the local farmer’s market is HEALTHIER. That is a priceless gift. All of the items that I got today are organic, non-GMO (genetically modified organism), no nitrate or artificial preservatives, grass-fed, free-range, locally raised, locally produced, and locally grown items.

My experience with the Rochester, MN farmer’s market over the last few years has been nothing less than wonderful. The first thing is that I actually have gotten to know the people who produce my food. Secondly, food from the big corporate grocery store just doesn’t taste nearly as good. No kidding! Two things really stand out to me. The egg yolks have much better color and the whites are more moist (less congealed). The meats all taste way better, in that they actually have real flavor. If you have never been to a farmer’s market you probably won’t know what I mean. Heck! Before I started shopping there I didn’t know what that meant!

Tastes like bacon!

The pork steaks I have pictured here above are from Vreeland Farms and they actually almost have the color of beef! That’s because the pigs weren’t penned up all their lives. They actually taste like bacon and the meat is much more dense! They are also antibiotic-free, non-GMO fed, and naturally cured with NO INFLAMMATION-CAUSING NITRATES. I believe these were only $3.25/lb too! Ok! Enough about the pork.

Where’s the beef?

Here’s the Beef!

Wendy’s (or any other fast-food chain) can’t touch the nutrient value or flavor of the beef I get from Don Buck of Buck’s Beef! Don has every cut of beef you can imagine. This week I got there a little later than usual and he was already out of butt and arm roasts. I had to settle for ground, which still tastes just as incredible as the rest! Did you know that the beef that you buy at the big chain grocery store is raised specifically for the fast food restaurant chains? Yep! Even the filet mignon or Porterhouse you buy at the store, unless it specifically states otherwise, comes from a factory-farm-operation-raised, non-organic, GMO feed eating, antibiotic-shot-up cow that is specifically raised to supply beef to our nation’s (and probably the worlds’) number one beef buyer, McDonald’s.

Now, onto the next food item. CHICKEN.

Organically raised, antibiotic-free, free range chicken.

Sweet Chicken!

I got this beautiful 4.33 lb. chicken from the same place that I get the awesomely scrumptious Coconut Craze Bars. Summer Hill Family Farms. All I have to say is that their chickens are really sweet and tender. I do them as a whole frier in the oven injected with one of my special butter herb sauces. They always come out juicy and tender. Oh yeah! I almost forgot to post the pic of their Coconut Craze Bars. My fiance insists I get these every time I go. They also sell lamb which I absolutely love!

I am really sorry that I can’t remember the name of the farm that I got these beautiful organic heirloom tomatoes and cilantro from.

I see a salsa in their immediate future!

The tomatoes are actually ripe even if they don’t really look it.

And the last item (but definitely NOT the least) that I will mention here are Monica’s Jalapeno jam and Blueberry Rhubarb jam. At 4 somolians a jar these are a bargain!

Monica Jams!

Monica really jams!

Monica also does a Swedish pastry called Lefse and all manner of other pickled and canned things!

I am going to end this post with some recommended movie viewing for those that want to learn more about the American food industry.

Food, Inc.: http://wideeyecinema.com/?p=5752

Fast Food Nation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zc_z623Wsro

The Future of Food: http://www.thefutureoffood.com/Trailer.html

Supersize Me!: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1Lkyb6SU5U

Thanks for reading and have a great day! Come back soon!

